Detox Day 4: Cleansing Mulligatawny

11 Oct

The Desk Chef Lunch Ladies are definitely in the groove on our fourth day of detox. Well, except for the dreams. Mine were often food-related; one in particular was rather disturbing because it involved Chefs Lori and Heather trying to shove cinnamon rolls down my throat. The worst part was they were completely, unabashedly ruining their own detoxes by eating them with gusto, one after the other … right in front of me. I was seriously pissed.

The thing is, I don’t even like cinnamon rolls. In my waking life, my “Top 3″ cravings are, in no particular order: wood-fire pizza, Napa Valley Cabernets and mixed berry bread pudding from my favorite restaurant, Sarello’s. The other Lunch Ladies have complained about similar, albeit waking, dreams. Chef Heather said she wished her carrot sticks were really Cheetos. Yesterday Chef Lori waxed poetic about the “Help Yourself” cookies in the break room.

Clearly, food is on our minds. Not the nourishing, life-enhancing, energizing, pure, clean, organic kind we’ve been feeding our bodies, but the kind of food that sticks to your ribs, clogs your arteries and makes you lethargic and bloated for hours afterwards. But, it’s all part of the detox journey. I reminded the gals – and myself – that one of the most challenging aspects of a good cleanse is self-control, something I am certain most, if not all of us, need to work on. Detoxes reset our brain’s habits because we are forced to work on controlling our weaknesses.

Luckily, we don’t have to practice too much self-control this lunch hour because my recipe for Cleansing Mulligatawny is full of warming spices, filling red lentils and chickpeas and a bounty of vegetables, including cabbage, carrots and onions. I personally like my mulligatawny robust and chunky because it’s more satisfying to me. But, try it pureed if you like a smoother texture, just like this recipe from my new hero, Gluten Free Goddess. This soup recipe would also benefit from added veggies, particularly green pepper and okra. I don’t have a smart phone or a camera, so if you want to start seeing more pictures, buy me one.

Cleansing Mulligatawny

1/2 head of cabbage
2 jalapenos
2 large carrots, julliened
1 large yellow onion, diced
4 cloves garlic
2 tbsp. curry powder
2 tbsp. turmeric
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
1 14-oz. can organic chick peas
3/4 C red lentils
2 C water
2 C vegetable juice

Over medium heat, in a large soup pot, saute the onion in the olive oil for 5 minutes. Add the jalapenos, garlic, curry powder, turmeric and cook for 5 more minutes to release and blend the flavors. Next, add the carrots, cabbage and other vegetables and cook for 10 minutes or until vegetables are soft. Stir frequently. Once the vegetables are soft, add the chick peas, Bragg’s, red lentils, water and vegetable juice. Stir. Simmer on low for 45 minutes to an hour. Season to taste. Serve with steamed brown rice or wild rice.

3 Responses to “Detox Day 4: Cleansing Mulligatawny”

  1. Anne Brandt October 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Lonna,

    This is hilarious. You need to start a website and go out on your own. Good writing and good food go together.

    Anne

  2. Andria October 11, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    Have you ever done this in the crock pot? I think I might need to try this weekend.

    • cheflonna October 11, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      Andria, I haven’t made this in a slow cooker, but I would imagine it works just great!

Leave a Reply

The Long and Winding Road...

An Alzheimer's Journey and Beyond

A blog to keep me motivated + accountable on my weight loss journey.

My Demented Mom

5 million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom is one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

The cube dweller's guide to gourmet lunch at work

The cube dweller's guide to gourmet lunch at work

The Woman Doctor's Guide

A guide to good health, women's wellness and getting it all done

brittneyfilm

Don't fear the subtitle!

Annie Was Here

Writer. Digital marketing pro. Reluctant farmer. Lover of basketball, labradors and comedy. I hate sarcasm.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

The North-Side Blender

My super radical path from single lady to "Blender Mom"

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Linda Frances Lein

Author and Writing Coach

analyfe

the subjective perspective of an analytical optimist

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

